hostlevel.blogg.se

Books like terry goodkind sword of truth series
Books like terry goodkind sword of truth series










books like terry goodkind sword of truth series

Drefan Rahl is one of those things, and since he connects in a major way to three storylines, I’m starting with him. There’s a lot of stuff going on in this book. Spoilers all up in here:ĭrefan Rahl and the “Mysterious” Prostitute Murderer (Prophecy can only be interpreted by other prophets because the prophecy isn’t just the written words, but images and feelings that come with it that normal people can’t interpret, or even perceive.) I say “in general,” because there is a scene I’m going to talk about below involving prophecy that made me want to throw this damn book across the room. And the way Goodkind handles prophecy in general is interesting in a way I’ve never seen another fantasy novel handle it. I mean, it’s generic, but some of it is genuinely cool and/or interesting when separated from that other stuff. The only part of this book I have no complaints with is the fantasy setting. But even that redeeming quality was mostly outweighed for me by the juvenile writing, terrrrrible dialogue, the blatant sexism, the lazy plotting, and awful character work. And yet, it was entertaining for the most part. The Temple of the Winds has SO MANY THINGS wrong with it that I don’t feel uncomfortable at all just straight up saying it was bad. I feel like it’s a really subjective difference, but it is there. There’s a difference between quality and preference. But just because I hate them, doesn’t mean they’re bad. One thing does not necessarily follow the other. It drives me absolute BONKERS when I see reviewers say books are BAD when really what’s going on is that they just don’t like them. Actually, there are a lot of books that people have loved that I hate. It’s pretty rare that I say a book is “bad.” Most books have redeeming qualities, or maybe just aren’t my thing.

books like terry goodkind sword of truth series

So, seriously, this book was very, very bad. But I wanted to write this review first so I could post them in the order I read them. I have, I don’t know, twenty reviews? ready to go. Ironically, this has resulted in a frontlog of reviews (this is a word I just made up). Lately I’ve been forcing myself to write reviews immediately after finishing books, but I made an exception with this one because a) I needed a break from it, and b) I annotated the shit out of my copy and needed to put actual effort into going back through it for quotes and such. (And I want to save the one star, because I’m pretty sure there is much worse to come.)

BOOKS LIKE TERRY GOODKIND SWORD OF TRUTH SERIES SERIES

I almost one-starred it, but the main thing that was making me want to do that was semi-addressed by the end, so I don’t think this series has quite reached the point of untenable badness just yet.












Books like terry goodkind sword of truth series